Camden County NJ Certain Persons Offense Lawyer
Weapons Charges Defense Attorney with Offices in Haddonfield, New Jersey
Certain people, such as those with a criminal record or mental disorder, are not permitted to own a firearm in New Jersey. Since New Jersey has some of the most stringent gun laws in the country, a certain persons offense can lead to a very long prison sentence with limited opportunity for parole depending on the surrounding circumstances. If you have been charged with a certain persons offense, it is crucial that hire an experienced and knowledgeable attorney that can help minimize the penalties and get you the best result for your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling weapons offenses for years in Camden County including Barrington, Somerdale, Gloucester, and Clementon. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute various charges for the State including gun and weapons offenses. This means we can predict what kinds of arguments the prosecution will make and use this knowledge to defend your case. If you have been charges with a certain persons offense, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Certain Persons Offenses in New Jersey
The law for certain persons offenses is covered under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-7. According to the statute, a person convicted of one of the following crimes qualifies as a certain person:
- Aggravated Assault
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Assault
- Endangering the Welfare of a Child
- Unlawful Possession of a Weapon
- Possession of a Weapon for an Unlawful Purpose
People with mental disorders and those convicted of a domestic violence crime also qualify as certain persons under the statute.
Certain Person Offense Degrees and Penalties in New Jersey
A certain persons offense can range from a second degree to fourth degree crime as explained below.
Fourth Degree (Up to 18 months in NJ State Prison): If you possess a weapon and have been convicted of aggravated assault, arson, burglary, extortion, homicide, kidnapping, robbery, stalking, aggravated sexual assault, sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a child, or offenses such as past weapons offenses and distributing drugs near a school zone.
Third Degree (3 to 5 years in NJ State Prison): If you possess a weapon and previously were convicted of a disorderly persons offense based on domestic violence.
Second Degree (5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison): A certain persons offense can be a second degree crime if you qualify as a certain person and attempt to purchase a firearm.
Note: Certain sections of this statute are included under New Jersey’s “Graves Act.” This means if convicted of one of these crimes, you MUST be sentenced to a term of imprisonment with a minimum term of parole ineligibility fixed at, or between, one-third to one-half of a sentence imposed, or 3 years, whichever is greater.
Contact a Somerdale NJ Certain Persons Offense Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a Certain Persons Offense. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.