Clementon NJ Harassment Lawyer
Criminal and Restraining Order Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
In New Jersey, harassment is usually considered a petty disorderly persons offense and the cases are handled by the municipal court with proper jurisdiction. Since the statute in New Jersey is very broad, we recognize that a harassment charge can happen to anyone. Many times, a person charged with harassment is also charged with other offenses such as simple assault. As a result, you can be subject to several significant penalties such as jail time, fines, and probation. If you are charged with harassment, you need a talented and experienced criminal defense attorney to help you get the most desirable outcome in your case.
Throughout over 20 years of practice, attorney Leonard Biddison has handled a large volume of cases with great success throughout Camden and Burlington County including Camden, Cherry Hill, Gloucester, Winslow Twp., and Clementon. Also, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former municipal prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute various charges for the State including harassment. If you have been charged with harassment, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Harassment Lawyer in Cherry Hill NJ
In New Jersey, harassment is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4. It states that harassment is a petty disorderly persons offense if, with the purpose to harass another, he:
a. Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
b. Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
c. Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
Note: A communication under subsection a. may be deemed to have been made either at the place where it originated or at the place where it was received.
Harassment is considered a fourth degree crime if, in committing an offense under this section, he was serving a term of imprisonment or was on parole or probation as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense under the laws of this State, any other state or the United States.
Note: A person simply doing something such as using profane language is not enough for the prosecution to get a harassment conviction. The defendant must have acted with the required intent to harass as stated in the statute.
Harassment Penalties in New Jersey
Harassment cases as petty disorderly persons offenses will take place in the municipal court in the municipality where the offense took place. A conviction can result in 3 months in the county jail. Bail is between $100 and $500 and the 10 percent cash bail option is available for this charge.
Harassment as a fourth degree crime can result in 18 months in New Jersey State Prison and is a felony charge.
Contact a Camden NJ Harassment Lawyer to Discuss Your Case
A skilled and knowledgeable attorney may be able to get your harassment charge downgraded to a non-criminal offense. The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case to see if this may apply and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a harassment charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.