The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in New Jersey DWI Cases
DWI Lawyer in Camden County, New Jersey
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses in New Jersey are very serious, even if it is a first offense. A DWI conviction can have significant consequences that can impact several aspects of your life including educational and employment opportunities. If you have been charged with a DWI, you should speak with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to help you navigate the legal process and get you the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless DWI cases for years in Camden County including Gloucester, Cherry Hill, Winslow, and Lindenwold. In fact, one of our attorneys, is one of only a few lawyers in the state who is certified to operate the DWI Alcotest 7110. This means he understands the details of the device, how it works, and whether there are any defects with it’s functioning. If you have been charged with a DWI, having an attorney who knows how to get the best result in your case is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
NJ DWI Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
In New Jersey, if you have been convicted of a DWI, one of the penalties that is often included is participation in an educational program at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. At the IDRC, you will participate in alcohol and highway safety courses and be evaluated to determine if you have any drug or alcohol problems. If so, you will be have to participate in a minimum 4 month treatment program.
For those convicted of first or third offense DWI offenses, there are IDRC centers in every county in New Jersey. If you are a second time offender, you will have to attend one of the three regional centers. For the first offense, a person will usually have to take a pair of six hour alcohol awareness classes over a weekend. For a second offense, a person will usually remain at the IDRC for 48 consecutive hours and many times must participate in the 4 month treatment program. A third time offender will spend 90 days at an inpatient center approved by an IDRC to take the place of half of the mandatory 180 day prison sentence for a third DWI.
The IDRC will monitor each person’s compliance with the program. If you do not complete the required classes, the center will notify the court and as a result you could receive further penalties such as indefinite license suspension and jail time.
Alcotest 7110 Certified Lawyer
For DWI cases, New Jersey utilizes the Alcotest 7110 breath testing device which was created by Draeger Safety. One of our attorneys attended a seminar in 2011 along with only a handful of other lawyers and is now certified to operate the device. He is now trained on the Alcotest 7110 MKIII-C Version NJ3.11′s analytical system, components, and peripherals, and also how to operate the test and perform a New Jersey specific breath test sequence. Therefore, the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison can utilize this expertise to determine the admissibility of the breath test result in your case.
Note: Our firm utilizes a former State trooper who is certified in field sobriety testing and is a certified operator of the Alcotest 7110, the breath testing device used in New Jersey DWI cases. He reviews the evidence, police reports, and videos and will draft a report to challenge the State’s evidence in your case.
Contact a Lindenwold NJ DWI Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DWI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DWI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.