Camden County NJ Robbery Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney in Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Being arrested for robbery can have a significant impact on your life because of the penalties that come along with a conviction, including a potentially very long prison sentence and a mark on your criminal record. The statute for robbery is often interpreted very broadly so that even something like a shoplifting charge can be upgraded to robbery if force was used during the commission of it. This is why you need an aggressive and experienced defense attorney to help with your case if you have been charged with robbery.
The criminal defense team at the the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison defends clients charged with theft related offenses such as burglary, robbery, and shoplifting in New Jersey including Burlington and Camden County. With around 40 years of combined experience, our defense attorneys know what it takes to help get you the most desirable result in your case. In fact, one of our attorneys has handled countless theft related cases and has been featured in the Daily Record from Morris County as a result of his success in several of these cases. The importance of this sort of expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. The Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are available anytime for a free initial consultation to speak with you about your case. Call us today at 866-721-9510.
New Jersey Robbery Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1
N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1 states that a person is guilty of robbery if in the course of committing a theft he or she does one of the following:
(1) Inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another
(2) Threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily injury
(3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.
Note: “In the course of committing” includes attempts to commit theft and immediate flight after a commission or attempt.
Degrees and Penalties for Robbery in New Jersey
First Degree: if in the course of committing the theft the actor attempts to kill anyone, or purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury (injury that created a substantial risk of death or permanent disfigurement), or is armed with, or uses or threatens the immediate use of a deadly weapon. First degree robbery can result in 10-20 years in NJ State Prison
Otherwise, robbery is considered a second degree felony punishable by 5-10 years in NJ State Prison. For both first and second degree robbery, there is a presumption of incarceration.
Note: Robbery is a crime included under the “No Early Release Act” meaning that 85 percent of the sentence must be served before parole eligibility.
Contact a Winslow NJ Robbery Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against your robbery charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of theft law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.