Gloucester NJ Second Offense DWI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses in New Jersey are very serious. A second DWI conviction carries even more severe consequences than a first offense and can impact several aspects of your life including future educational and employment opportunities. If you have been charged with a second offense DWI, you should speak with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to help you navigate the legal process and get you the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless DWI cases for years in Camden County including Gloucester, Voorhees, Brooklawn, and Winslow. In fact, one of our attorneys is one of only a few lawyers in the state who is certified to operate the DWI Alcotest 7110. This means he understands the details of the device, how it works, and whether there are any defects with it’s functioning. This allows us to develop an aggressive strategy to help minimize the penalties in your case. If you have been charged with a second offense DWI, having an attorney who knows how to get you the best possible result is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey Second Offense DWI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
Second Offense DWI’s in New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. It explains:
A person shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00, and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 48 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 90 days, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of two years upon conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the chief administrator, consistent with subsection (b) of this section. For a second violation, a person also shall be required to install an ignition interlock device under the provisions of P.L.1999, c. 417 (C.39:4-50.16 et al.) or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for two years under the provisions of section 2 of P.L.1995, c. 286 (C.39:3-40.1).
Second Offense DWI Penalties in New Jersey
- Mandatory 2 days in jail that can increase to 90 days
- 2 year suspension of drivers license
- Ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 three years
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 48 hours and potentially further treatment that can last for 4 months
- Fines totaling over $1,400
- Community Service
- Mark on record
- $4,500 total in surcharges to the NJ DMV over 3 years
Note: If the second offense was committed 10 years after the first offense, the second can be treated as if it were a first.
Note: Our firm utilizes a former State trooper who is certified in field sobriety testing and as a certified operator of the Alcotest 7110, the breath testing device used in New Jersey DWI cases. He reviews the evidence, police reports, and videos and will draft a report to challenge the State’s evidence in your case.
Contact a Cherry Hill NJ Second Offense DWI Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DWI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DWI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.