Cherry Hill NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
A simple assault charge can result from a very large number of actions such as injuring another person or even attempting to injure another person. As such, a simple assault charge can happen to anyone and the penalties that can result are quite significant. They include potential fines, incarceration, and a permanent criminal record.
Throughout over 20 years of practice, Mr. Biddison has handled a large volume of simple assault cases with great success throughout Camden County including Camden, Gloucester, Winslow, Cherry Hill, and Magnolia. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a municipal prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute simple assault charges for the State. If you have been charged with simple assault, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Simple Assault Lawyer in Gloucester NJ
Simple assault is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1. It provides:
A person is guilty of a simple assault if he or she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Note: To be convicted of simple assault, the victim does not necessarily even have to sustain a bodily injury. Simply a threat of bodily injury can sometimes be enough for the prosecution to make its case.
Note: Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey but if the charges stem from a fight that was mutually consented to, it can be downgraded to a petty disorderly persons offense. However, if the injury is serious enough or if the offense was committed against someone such as a police officer, the charge can be upgraded to aggravated assault which is a felony with much more severe penalties.
Simple Assault Penalties in New Jersey
A simple assault conviction, as a disorderly persons offense, can result in a wide range of penalties such as fines up to $1,000, up to 6 months in county jail, counseling, and restitution payments to the victim. You may also lose your job and certain rights such as the right to own a firearm. The bail for this charge is between $500 and $2,500 and the 10 percent cash bail option is available. If the charge is downgraded to a petty disorderly persons offense, penalties include up to 30 days in jail, a maximum fine of $500, and community service.
Contact a Winslow Twp. NJ Simple Assault Lawyer for Answers
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a simple assault charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of assault law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.