How an Out of State DWI Conviction Can Affect You in New Jersey
DWI Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses in New Jersey are very serious, even if it is a first offense. A DWI conviction can have significant consequences, including license suspension and jail time that can impact several aspects of your life including educational and employment opportunities. If you have been charged with a DWI, you should speak with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to help you navigate the legal process and get you the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless DWI cases for years in Camden County including Haddonfield, Gloucester, Lindenwold, and Waterford. In fact, one of our attorneys, is one of only a few lawyers in the state who is certified to operate the DWI Alcotest 7110. This means he understands the details of the device, how it works, and whether there are any defects with it’s functioning. If you have been charged with a DWI, having an attorney who knows how to get the best result in your case is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
An Out of State DWI Conviction May Affect Your NJ License
If a person has a drivers license in New Jersey and is convicted of a DWI, DUI, or refusal to submit to a breath test, his or her license can be suspended. Another state is not allowed to suspend someones license except in their own state for jurisdictional reasons. However, if you have received a license suspension in another state, they will contact New Jersey for notification because of the Interstate Compact. New Jersey may at that point attempt to domesticate the DWI so that you cannot drive in the state.
If the domestication is granted, a person is allowed object to this suspension by requesting a hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles where the state will try to uphold the suspension in accordance with New Jersey law. Therefore, if the DWI was from out of state and your BAC was between .08 and .10, your license will be suspended in New Jersey for 3 months. If the BAC was above.10, the license suspension is increased from 7 months to a year. You are also entitled to have an attorney with you at this hearing.
Prior Out of State DWI Convictions in New Jersey
In New Jersey, a second or third DWI conviction will lead to enhanced penalties. If both the first and second occurred in New Jersey, there is no issue. Sometimes, however, if the first conviction happened outside the state, it can be used to increase the penalties if you receive a subsequent DWI in New Jersey. Whether this happens will depend of factors including what the BAC was for the first conviction and if it violates New Jersey law. For example, if you previously received a DWI in another state and your BAC was .14 and you are stopped after that in New Jersey for a DWI, it will be considered a second offense. However, if the BAC was around .08 or .09 and it was committed before 2004 (Legal limit changed from .10 to .08), then the stop in New Jersey will not count as a second offense.
Contact a Waterford NJ DWI Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DWI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DWI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.