Camden County Burglary Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney in Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Being arrested for burglary can have a significant impact on your life because of the penalties that come along with a conviction, including jail time and a mark on your criminal record. This is why you will need an aggressive and experienced defense attorney if you have been charged with burglary.
The criminal defense team at the Tormey Law Firm defends clients charged with theft related offenses such as theft by deception, robbery, and shoplifting in New Jersey including Burlington and Camden County. With almost 40 years of combined experience, our defense attorneys know what it takes to help get you the most desirable result in your case. In fact, one of our attorneys has handled countless shoplifting cases and has been featured in the Daily Record from Morris County as a result of his success in several of these cases. This sort of expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. The lawyers are available anytime for a free initial consultation to speak with you about your case. Call us today at 877-450-8301..
New Jersey Burglary Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2
N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2 explains that a person is guilty of burglary if, with the intent to commit an offense therein, he or she:
(1) Enters a research facility, structure, or a separately secured or occupied portion thereof unless the structure was at the time open to the public or the actor is licensed or privileged to enter; or
(2) Surreptitiously remains in a research facility, structure, or a separately secured or occupied portion thereof knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so.
Note: There are defenses to burglary that may be available in your case. For example, according to the statute, the prosecution must show not only that you entered or remained in a structure, they must also show that you had the intent to commit a criminal offense therein.
Degrees and Penalties for Burglary in New Jersey
Second Degree: If in the course of committing the offense, the actor:
(1) Purposely, knowingly or recklessly inflicts, attempts to inflict or threatens to inflict bodily injury on anyone; or
(2) Is armed with or displays what appear to be explosives or a deadly weapon.
There is a presumption of incarceration for burglary in the second degree and it carries a 5-10 prison sentence.
Third Degree: If it does not fall under second degree, burglary will be treated as a third degree felony punishable by 3-5 years in prison along with fines up to $15,000.
Note: Prosecutors interpret N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2 broadly. A “structure” can mean any building, room, ship, vessel, car, vehicle, airplane, or anyplace in which someone could stay overnight or conduct business.
Contact a Gloucester Burglary Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against your burglary charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of theft law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.