Camden County NJ Carjacking Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
A person convicted of carjacking faces several grave consequences in New Jersey including an extensive prison sentence since it is among the most serious crimes in the state. If you have been charged with carjacking, it is crucial that you speak to an experienced and skilled attorney that knows the details of the law and can help you keep the penalties to a minimum.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling threat and assault related offenses for years in Camden County including Pennsauken, Haddonfield, Cherry Hill, and Winslow Twp. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute threat and assault charges for the State. This allows us to have insight as to the types of arguments the prosecution might make in your case. This sort of knowledge can be invaluable in your case. If you have been charged with carjacking, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey Carjacking Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:15-2
The law for carjacking is covered under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-2. It provides:
A person is guilty of carjacking if in the course of committing an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle, as defined in R.S.39:1-1, or in an attempt to commit an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle he:
(1) inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon an occupant or person in possession or control of a motor vehicle;
(2) threatens an occupant or person in control with, or purposely or knowingly puts an occupant or person in control of the motor vehicle in fear of, immediate bodily injury;
(3) commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree; or
(4) operates or causes said vehicle to be operated with the person who was in possession or control or was an occupant of the motor vehicle at the time of the taking remaining in the vehicle.
Note: An act is considered “in the course of committing an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle” if it occurs during an attempt to commit the unlawful taking of a motor vehicle or during an immediate flight after the attempt or commission.
Carjacking Degrees and Penalties in New Jersey
Carjacking is a first degree crime in New Jersey, the most serious in the state’s criminal code. A person convicted of this crime can serve a sentence in New Jersey State Prison of 10 to 30 years, which is even longer than most other first degree crimes.
Note: This crime is included under New Jersey’s “No Early Release Act” meaning that a person must serve at least 85 percent of their sentence before parole eligibility.
Contact a Cherry Hill NJ Carjacking Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a carjacking charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.