Camden NJ Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI) Lawyer
DWI Defense Attorney with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
Driving under the influence of drugs (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are very similar in New Jersey in terms of how they are prosecuted and punished. You can be arrested on a DUI charge based on any number of substances including marijuana, hallucinogenics, or prescription drugs. The consequences resulting from a DUI conviction can can have an extremely negative impact on your life since they can be quite severe. The penalties can include jail time and loss of your drivers license. If you have been charged with a DUI, you should speak with an experienced attorney as soon as you can to help you navigate the legal process and get you the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless DWI and DUI cases for years in Camden County including Cherry Hill, Gloucester, Winslow, and Voorhees. In fact, one of our attorneys is one of only a few lawyers in the state who is certified to operate the DWI Alcotest 7110. This means he understands the details of the device, how it works, and whether there are any defects with it’s functioning. If you have been charged with a DUI, having an attorney who knows how to get the best result in your case is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey DUI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 is New Jersey’s DUI statute. It explains:
A person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug is subject to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $500 and a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers, and, in the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of not less than seven months nor more than one year.
DUI Penalties and Defenses in New Jersey
For a DUI case, the prosecution will determine whether a person has been driving under the influence of a drug by utilizing a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE). This person will administer a variety of tests at the police station to make a determination and then draft a report of his findings. One of the tests that might be given is a urine test. This however might not be conclusive that a person was operating the motor vehicle under the influence since certain drugs such as marijuana stay in your system sometimes well after you use them.
Since DUI’s are covered under the same statute as DWI’s, the penalties are similar. As the statute explains, they include:
1) A month in county jail
2) Drivers license suspension between 7 months and 1 year
3) Intoxicated Driver Resource Center educational program
4) Fine of up to $500
Note: Since DWI and DUI are governed by the same statute, if you already have a DWI on your record and are charged with a subsequent DUI, you will face the penalties for a second offense DWI.
Note: Our firm uses a retired State trooper who was a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) for the State. He will review evidence, lab results, and the DRE report and write his own report to challenge the State’s evidence in court.
Contact a Cherry Hill NJ DUI Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DUI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DUI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.