Cherry Hill NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Traffic Ticket Attorney with Offices in Camden County, New Jersey
Driving without insurance is arguably the most severe traffic violation in New Jersey, if you are talking in terms of the penalties associated with a conviction. The number of people currently driving in violation of this law, however, are surprisingly very high. In fact, recent statistics show that over 16 percent of drivers are operating a motor vehicle without insurance while 14 percent of accidents are caused by people without insurance. As a result, a driving without insurance charge can happen to anyone and prosecutors will try these cases very aggressively. If you have been charged with driving without insurance, it can make a huge difference to have an experienced and skilled attorney on your side who knows the intricacies of the law and can help you minimize the penalties in your case.
The criminal defense team at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless traffic violations for years in Camden County including Gloucester, Pine Hill, Winslow Township, and Bellmawr. We understand the details of this area of the law and will work to get your charges downgraded to a lesser charge such as unsafe driving or dismissed altogether. The advantage of getting the charges downgraded is that it may result in getting no points on your license which will save you money in the future. If you have been charged with driving without insurance, having an attorney who knows how to get the best result in your case is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey
Any owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act, and any operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court, and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction. Upon subsequent conviction, he shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of his conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the director. The director’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.
Failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a rebuttable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged with a violation of this section.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey
As mentioned above, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very severe. They include the following.
- Fine between $300 and $1,000
- Community Service period determined by the court
- Mandatory license suspension of 1 year
- Fine up to $5,000
- 14 days in jail followed by 30 days community service
- Mandatory license suspension of 2 years
Note: For driving without insurance cases, there is a “rebuttable presumption” that you are guilty. This means that the prosecution gets an advantage because the court assumes that you were driving without insurance. It is then the job of the defense to rebut this assumption and provide proof that you did in fact have insurance.
Free Consultation with a Voorhees NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a driving without insurance charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of traffic violations in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.