Failure to Turn Over Drugs to Law Enforcement in Camden County NJ
Drug Charges Lawyer with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
If a police officer stops you and orders you to turn over a controlled dangerous substance that you are in possession of, there is an obligation to turn it over by law. Failure to do so will likely result in a charge of failure to make lawful disposition of a CDS regardless of whether or not you are actually under the influence of a drug. The police and prosecutors take drug charges very seriously even when only a small amount is involved. A conviction for a drug offense, therefore, will subject a person to significant penalties including a lengthy prison sentence and a permanent mark on you record. If you have been charged with failure to make a lawful disposition of a CDS, you will need an experienced and knowledgeable attorney who can help get you a positive outcome in you case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling a huge volume of drug cases for years in Camden County including Cherry Hill, Pine Hill, Gloucester, and Woodlynne. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute drug charges for the State which means we know what kinds of arguments the prosecution might make. This sort of knowledge and expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. If you have been charged with failure to make a lawful disposition of a CDS, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Failure to Make Lawful Disposition of a CDS in New Jersey
Failure to make a lawful disposition of a CDS is explained under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c). It provides:
c. Any person who knowingly obtains or possesses a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog in violation of subsection a. of this section and who fails to voluntarily deliver the substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is guilty of a disorderly persons offense. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to preclude a prosecution or conviction for any other offense defined in this title or any other statute.
Note: Prosecutors are not allowed to enter into plea agreements with those charged with this crime. Therefore, it is in your best interest to contact an attorney in your case who might be familiar with possible defenses to the offense. For example, the prosecution must prove that you “knowingly” were in possession of the drugs. If they cannot show that there is a high probability that you were aware of the drugs, they cannot prove their case against you.
Penalties for Failure to Make Lawful Disposition of a CDS in New Jersey
There are several penalties that can be imposed on you if convicted of this crime.They include:
- 6 months in county jail
- Maximum $1,000 fine
- Community service
- Mark on your criminal record
Contact a Gloucester NJ Failure to Make Lawful Disposition of CDS Lawyer Today
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a failure to make a lawful disposition of a CDS charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.