Camden County NJ Manslaughter Defense Attorney
Criminal Lawyer with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
The crime of manslaughter is often characterized by a killing in the heat of passion after being provoked. It can be either a first or second degree crime depending on the circumstances which means a conviction can result in several life changing consequences including an extremely lengthy prison term. If you have been charged with manslaughter, it is crucial that you speak to an experienced and knowledgeable attorney that help you get the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling threat and assault related offenses for years in Camden County including Mount Ephraim, Cherry Hill, Lindenwold, and Gloucester Twp. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute various charges for the State, including manslaughter. This means we can anticipate the arguments the prosecution might make and be ready to attack them aggressively. If you have been charges with manslaughter, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey Manslaughter Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4
Manslaughter in New Jersey is covered by N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4.
a. A person is guilty of aggravated manslaughter when he or she:
Recklessly causes death under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to human life OR the actor causes the death of another person while fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer in violation of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:29-2. Notwithstanding the provision of any other law to the contrary, the actor shall be strictly liable for a violation of this paragraph upon proof of a violation of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:29-2 which resulted in the death of another person. “Actor” does not include a passenger in a motor vehicle.
b. Homicide is considered manslaughter when it is committed recklessly or a homicide which would otherwise be murder under section 2C:11-3 is committed in the heat of passion resulting from a reasonable provocation.
Note: Whether a person violates subsection a or b depends on his or her mental state. To be charged with violating subsection a, the defendant had to have acted with extreme indifference to the value of human life. Manslaughter charges are different from murder in that murder requires the defendant to act purposely or knowingly.
Penalties for Manslaughter in New Jersey
Manslaughter is generally a second degree crime in New Jersey which means it can result in 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison if convicted. However, if a person has been charged with aggravated manslaughter, it becomes a first degree crime that can result in 10 to 30 years in New Jersey State Prison
Note: Manslaughter is included under the “No Early Release Act” meaning that 85 percent of the sentence must be served before a person can be eligible for parole. The act applies to both manslaughter and aggravated manslaughter.
Contact a Mount Ephraim NJ Manslaughter Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a manslaughter charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.