Camden NJ Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle Lawyer
Drug Charges Attorney in Collingswood, New Jersey
New Jersey’s definition of what qualifies as a controlled dangerous substance is extremely broad. As a result, possession of a CDS in a motor vehicle is a very common offense to be charged with. Although this crime is quite common, the penalties that can result from a conviction, including a lengthy license suspension, can have a significant impact on your life. If you have been charged with possession of a CDS in a motor vehicle, you should consult with an experienced attorney who can get you a positive outcome in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling a huge volume of drug cases for years in Camden County including Gloucester, Cherry Hill, Winslow, Somerdale, and Brooklawn. Also, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute drug charges for the State which means we know what kinds of arguments the prosecution might make. This sort of knowledge and expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. If you have been charged with possession of a CDS in a motor vehicle, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
Possession of a CDS in a Motor Vehicle Lawyer in Gloucester NJ
The law for possession of CDS in a motor vehicle is explained under N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1. It provides:
No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any highway while knowingly having in his possession or in the motor vehicle any controlled dangerous substance as classified in Schedules I, II, III, IV and V of the “New Jersey Controlled Dangerous Substances Act,” P.L.1970, c. 226 (C. 24:21-1 et seq.) or any prescription legend drug, unless the person has obtained the substance or drug from, or on a valid written prescription of, a duly licensed physician, veterinarian, dentist or other medical practitioner licensed to write prescriptions intended for the treatment or prevention of disease in man or animals or unless the person possesses a controlled dangerous substance pursuant to a lawful order of a practitioner or lawfully possesses a Schedule V substance.
Penalties for Possession of a CDS in a Motor Vehicle in New Jersey
Penalties for this offense include:
- Forfeiture of right to operate a motor vehicle for 2 years
- Fine of $50
Note: You may also be facing charges and penalties for possession of the drug you were found with in the motor vehicle. These penalties can include additional fines and potentially prison time.
Contact a Winslow NJ Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle Lawyer Today
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a possession of a CDS in a motor vehicle charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.