Camden County NJ Morphine Possession and Distribution Lawyer
Prescription Drug Charges Attorney with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
Morphine is an opioid narcotic usually given to those suffering from moderate-severe pain. However, unlike many other prescription drugs, Morphine is only prescribed after surgery if the person was already taking it beforehand. It can also be taken many different ways including liquid form, tablet form, or by injections through an IV. However, because of its potency, Morphine is an extremely addictive drug and even those who might legitimately need it can become dependent on it. As a result, the State of New Jersey will seek the maximum penalties allowed under the law in these cases. If you have been charged with possession or distribution of Morphine, you should consult with a skilled defense attorney who can help get you a positive result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling a huge volume of drug cases for years in Camden County including Winslow Twp., Cherry Hill, Gloucester, and Clementon. In fact, one of the members of our criminal defense team is a former county prosecutor in New Jersey who used to prosecute drug charges for the State which means we know what kinds of arguments the prosecution might make. This sort of knowledge and expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. If you have been charged with possession or distribution of Morphine, having an attorney who knows what it takes to potentially beat the charges against you is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 877-450-8301 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey Morphine Possession and Distribution Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5
The law for possession and distribution of Morphine is explained under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5. It is considered wither a schedule II or schedule III drug, depending on the dosage. Further, it is illegal to carry it unless it has been prescribed by a doctor and illegal to distribute unless you are licensed to do so. As the statute explains below, the degree you are charged with is based on how much of the drug you are found with.
Second Degree: Morphine Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution – You will be charged in the second degree if you are found with 100 or more units and you have them for financial gain. Penalties can include 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison with a presumption of incarceration, and a fine of up to $300,000.
Third Degree: Morphine Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution – If you arrested with between 5 and 99 units, you will be charged with this offense in the third degree. Penalties for this include 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.
Fourth Degree: Morphine Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution – If you are found with less than 5 units, you will be charged in the fourth degree. Penalties can include up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Morphine Possession – Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of less than 5 units outside of its original bottle, you be charged with a disorderly persons offense. Further, even being under the influence of Morphine in public can be a disorderly persons offense. Penalties can include up to 6 months in county jail and a $1,000 fine.
Note: According to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), a person can also be charged for not turning over Morphine to a law enforcement officer. This is a disorderly persons offense punishable by 6 months in county jail and potential drivers license suspension. Many Morphine related cases get downgraded to this.
Note: There are several defenses to possession and distribution of Morphine that might be available in your case. For example, if there was a problem with the way the police conducted their search, the entire case against you would have to be thrown out. Further, depending on what degree you have been charged with and whether you have a prior record, you might be eligible for a probationary sentence such as the Pre-Trial Intervention Program. Completion of this program will result in the charges being dropped against you.
Contact a Winslow Twp. NJ Morphine Possession and Distribution Lawyer Today
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a Morphine possession or distribution charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of the law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 877-450-8301 for a free initial consultation about your case.