Camden County NJ Receiving Stolen Property Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
Receiving stolen property is a serious crime in New Jersey and therefore can carry some significant penalties including a lengthy prison sentence that can go as high as 10 years. New Jersey’s statute governing receiving stolen property is also quite broad meaning to get the most desirable result in your case, you will need a knowledgeable and experienced attorney to help you through the legal process.
The criminal defense team at the the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison defends clients charged with theft related offenses such as forgery, credit card theft, and shoplifting in Camden County including Winslow, Pennsauken, and Haddonfield. With almost 40 years of combined experience, our defense attorneys know what it takes to help get you the most desirable result in your case. In fact, one of our attorneys has handled countless shoplifting cases and has been featured in the Daily Record from Morris County as a result of his success in several of these cases. This sort of expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. The Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are available anytime for a free initial consultation to speak with you about your case. Call us today at 866-721-9510.
New Jersey Receiving Stolen Property Statute: N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7a
The law for receiving stolen property is explained under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7a:
a) A person is guilty of theft if he knowingly receives or brings into this State movable property of another knowing that it has been stolen, or believing that it is probably stolen. It is an affirmative defense that the property was received with purpose to restore it to the owner. “Receiving” means acquiring possession, control or title, or lending on the security of the property.
Many receiving stolen property cases turn on whether the defendant acted knowingly. This element is explained under subsection b of the statute which states:
b) The requisite knowledge or belief is presumed in the case of a person who:
- Is found in possession or control of two or more items of property stolen on two or more separate occasions; or
- Has received stolen property in another transaction within the year preceding the transaction charged; or
- Being a person in the business of buying or selling property of the sort received, acquires the property without having ascertained by reasonable inquiry that the person from whom he obtained it had a legal right to possess and dispose of it; or
- Is found in possession of two or more defaced access devices.
Degrees and Penalties for Receiving Stolen Property in New Jersey
The degree of receiving stolen property is based on a variety of factors including the value of the property.
Second Degree – Sentence of 5-10 years in New Jersey State Prison
- The amount involved is $75,000 or more;
- The property is taken by extortion; or
- The property stolen is a controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) and the quantity is in excess of one kilogram.
Third Degree – Sentence of 3-5 years in New Jersey State Prison
- The valueis between $500 and $75,000;
- The property stolen is a firearm, motor vehicle, vessel, boat, horse, domestic companion animal or airplane;
- The property stolen is a CDS and the amount involved is less than $75,000 or is undetermined and the quantity is one kilogram or less;
- It is from the person of the victim
- The property stolen is a New Jersey Prescription Blank.
Fourth Degree – Sentence of up to 18 months in NJ State Prison
- The value is between $200 and $500
If none of these apply, receiving stolen property is a disorderly persons offense which carries a sentence of up to 6 months in the county jail.
Contact a Pennsauken NJ Receiving Stolen Property Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against your receiving stolen property charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of theft law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.