Winslow NJ Third Offense DWI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses in New Jersey are very serious. A third DWI conviction carries even more severe consequences than a first offense and second offense and can impact several aspects of your life including future educational and employment opportunities. If you have been charged with a third offense DWI, you should speak with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to help you navigate the legal process and get you the most desirable result in your case.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison have had tremendous success handling countless DWI cases for years in Camden County including Winslow, Cherry Hill, Gloucester, and Haddonfield. In fact, one of our attorneys is one of only a few lawyers in the state who is certified to operate the DWI Alcotest 7110. This means he understands the details of the device, how it works, and whether there are any defects with it’s functioning. This allows us to develop an aggressive strategy to help minimize the penalties in your case. If you have been charged with a third offense DWI, having an attorney who knows how to get you the best possible result is imperative. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 866-721-9510 anytime for a free initial consultation.
New Jersey Third Offense DWI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
Third offense DWI’s are covered by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 which states:
A person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood, shall be subject to:
- A fine of $1,000
- Imprisonment of at least 180 days in the county jail
- Forfeiture of right to operate a motor vehicle for 10 years.
- Required to install an ignition interlock device or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for 10 years.
- Participation in the intoxicated driver resource center
- NJ MVC surcharge of $1,500 for 3 years
- Further fines can include payments to the violent Crimes Compensation Board, the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund, the Safe Neighborhood Services Fund, and the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
Note: If the third offense was committed 10 years after a second offense, the third can be treated as if it were a second.
Note: Our firm utilizes a former State trooper who is certified in field sobriety testing and as a certified operator of the Alcotest 7110, the breath testing device used in New Jersey DWI cases. He reviews the evidence, police reports, and videos and will draft a report to challenge the State’s evidence in your case.
Contact a Gloucester NJ Third Offense DWI Lawyer for Answers
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DWI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DWI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.