Camden County NJ Theft of Movable Property Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney with Offices in Collingswood, New Jersey
Theft of movable property is considered an “unlawful taking” in New Jersey. It occurs when a person takes the property of another in order to deprive that person of it. Theft of movable property, even when it involves items you may not think to be very valuable, can result in some serious consequences if you are found guilty. You will need an aggressive and experienced defense attorney to help get you a positive result if you have been charged with this crime.
The criminal defense team at the the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison defend clients charged with theft related offenses such as theft by extortion, credit card fraud, and burglary in Camden County including Winslow Township, Cherry Hill, and Gloucester. With around 40 years of combined experience, our defense attorneys know what it takes to help get you the most desirable result in your case. In fact, one of our attorneys has handled countless shoplifting cases and has been featured in the Daily Record from Morris County as a result of his success in several of these cases. This sort of expertise can be extremely valuable in your case. The Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are available anytime for a free initial consultation to speak with you about your case. Call us today at 866-721-9510.
Theft of Movable Property in New Jersey
The law for theft of movable property is covered under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3. It explains:
A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully takes, or exercises unlawful control over, movable property of another with purpose to deprive him thereof.
Note: Movable property is property that is not attached to the land or that does not have a fixed location. Many times, the statute is interpreted broadly so that it may even encompass actions such as starting someone else’s car with the intention of depriving them of it.
Theft of Movable Property Degrees and Penalties in New Jersey
The penalties for theft of movable property depend on the value of the property taken.
A person is guilty of theft of movable property in the second degree if the value of the property is at least $75,000. Penalties include 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison.
A person is guilty of theft of movable property in the third degree if the value of the property is $500 to $75,000. Penalties include 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
A person is guilty of theft of movable property in the fourth degree if the value of the property is between $200 and $500. Penalties include up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Theft of movable property is a disorderly persons offense if the property is less than $200. This can result in 6 months in county jail.
Note: If you are charged with theft of movable property in the second degree, there is a presumption of incarceration even if it is your first offense. Third and fourth degree on the other hand carry a presumption of non-incarceration meaning if you do not have a prior record you are more likely to receive probation or admission into the pre-trial intervention program. If you complete the program successfully, the charges against you will be dropped.
Contact a Cherry Hill NJ Theft of Movable Property Lawyer for Answers
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against your theft of movable property charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of theft law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at 866-721-9510 for a free initial consultation about your case.